Bobbi’s Birthday

Standard

Image result for bing - holly hobbie

Image result for bing - holly hobbie

My lovely sister would have been 65 yesterday. She always made me feel welcome, whether it was upstairs in her room or in her own home after she got married.  Today, my thoughts go to visiting with her in her backyard.  Old-growth shady trees and flowers and bird feeders made it a haven for wildlife and me.  Actually, she was the haven.  We would sit out under the trees and talk over homemade iced tea.  I can’t recall exactly what we talked about since there were so many afternoons spent this way.   It was a deep sharing of thoughts and feelings.  I can remember the way I felt though.  Heard, seen, cared for and loved.  It is no exaggeration to say that she had a way of creating a little heaven on earth.  There was laughter and good-natured teasing too.  I hope I made her feel as good as she made me feel during out times together.  I always felt more whole and complete when I came away from our visits. More ready to face the world.  The world didn’t seem like such a bad place with a special sister like I had.  She left it too soon; but, gave so much while she was here that the world remains so much better for her having been in it.  And, I am a better person than I would have been without her love.  So many feelings abound today, but gratitude for having been so blessed is the strongest.

5 thoughts on “Bobbi’s Birthday

Leave a Reply

