Photo Challenge: Quest

Standard

via Photo Challenge: Quest

Image result for PICTURES OF THE ART OF TIDYING UP

I saw this word today — “Quest”, and I decided that would be a fun way to look at my latest challenge.  I just had all my worldly possessions moved back to Delaware from Florida.  I have been living without them for a year and a half and got very used to a minimalist existence.  Now, taking up one half of the living room are about ninety boxes.  I kid you not.  In preparation for their arrival, I read “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up” by Marie Kondo.  The book is inspiring and yet down to earth.  Step One involves getting rid of things that you don’t use, or don’t need or that no longer give you joy.  She starts with clothes, I believe, but I have to do this box by box since they are in a pile half-way to the ceiling.  My quest is to reduce my belongings to a reasonable amount.  You may be wondering “What in the world does she have in those 90 boxes?”.  Many contain books.  I have collected books (mostly illustrated and children’s books since I was in my twenties). One challenge is to reduce the number of books — it is estimated that there are 40 cartons of these.  Now, what will make this so hard is that I already got rid of half of my books before I went to Florida.  Yes, I can see that I had a problem.  LOL!  So, what is left is those that I thought I couldn’t live without.  In addition to these books, are my journals.  Starting roughly nineteen years ago (my first marriage was disintegrating), I started journaling every day and have kept every single one.  Some are worth keeping, but most are the ravings of a nearly-mad woman.   I cannot even read some of my hand writing from the years that I took care of my ill husband (2nd marriage).  I certainly don’t want to relive that time by rereading these, so I threw ten journals away yesterday and felt all the better for it.  The movers just delivered these boxes yesterday and already I also have  bagged up a bunch of clothes that hasn’t fit for over five years (antidepressants do put weight on) and a bunch of knick-knacks and what-not to go to the thrift store or the garbage.  My friend, Audrey, had stopped by to stare in wonder at the mountain of  boxes.  I was about to consider throwing out books of poems from my first love, but Audrey fell in love with them and wants her daughter to see them too.  We wrote each other poems nearly every day.  We would leave them on my car windshield when it was parked outside my job.  They are not of the Brownings’ quality but they are cute and whimsical.  Perhaps, I should keep these. I wonder if he kept mine?   Perhaps, I will blog about them in the future.

So, wish me luck.  My quest is a daunting one.  I seek to raze to the ground a mountain.  And there is lifetime of treasures to go through.

One thought on “Photo Challenge: Quest

Leave a Reply

