Reptar

Standard

https://i1.wp.com/cobras.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/Bearded-Dragon-by-ptnphoto.jpg

Its a sad day and the end of an era.  Sweet Reptar, our bearded dragon, has passed away.  My son called today to tell me the news.  He is survived by his loving mate, Reptina.  Reptar was fifteen years old; Reptina is twelve.  He will be missed.  He was a very gentle dragon with kind eyes who would sip water from our fingertips.  We got Reptar after my husband moved out.  My son , seven years old at the time,  wanted a lizard and I wanted to prove to him that good things would continue to happen for him despite his mother and father getting divorced.  So, I researched what it would take to keep a lizard and off to the pet store we went. Although, not a girlie girl, I admit I was a bit squeamish about his first choice of lizard — a gecko — and felt better when he chose a bearded dragon.  We came home with all the ingredients for a happy lizard including sand, lighting, and crickets.  After the tank was set up we placed Reptar in his new home.  I felt inordinately proud because I had been able to do this on my own without any help from my husband.  It seemed a good omen for things to come. We got through the difficult times of upheaval with help from friends and able therapists.   My son is now a college graduate and a fine young man.  But the journey of thousands of steps began with a lizard named Reptar who will be sorely missed.

Picture from Bing

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Reptar

  1. Awww. Actually, he served his purpose. He was there to help through a traumatic experience. Gods’ little creatures have a way of comforting us in times of need. Even if they leave us….I think they come back to help another.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “There are things that we don’t want to happen but have to accept, things we don’t want to know but have to learn, and people we can’t live without but have to let go.”

    May your many memories of reptar help to sustain you at this most difficult time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

