Journaling by Hand

Quote

Journaling by Hand

 I write everyday in a journal.  In it I hand write my daily thoughts, feelings and dreams. There is something therapeutic about taking pen to paper.  Your emotions flow out in the ink.  I write so that I can think clearly.  I write so that my actions and choices are not mere reactions to life and people. Instead, I can live with premeditation and make choices about how I will react.  My thinking can get all muddled in an unruly pile.  I take each thought from the pile and put it on paper and begin to see what I really think or feel.  More often than not I can see solutions where before there were only problems.  Or if I am ruminating endlessly on some incident or interaction that is bothering me, I write it out.  It gets that hamster off the wheel!  Then, I can get on with my life.  Don’t know what’s bothering you?  Start writing and you’ll be illuminated. You think maybe the people in your life are not listening to you well?  Tell it to paper. It is endlessly patient.  Need to just complain?  You won’t bore anyone and can kvetch till your pen runs dry.  I try to encourage everyone I know to journal. Try it, you’ll like it.

11 thoughts on “Journaling by Hand

  1. Journaling was such an essential part of therapy due to my difficulty with being in touch of my own emotions, needs, etc. I keep a few now. One mixed media even. It’s a great therapeutic and creative outlet.

    I over-think, so I understand the need to feel I have the right words. Is this characteristic of cptsd? I feel like I need to be ready to anticipate any scenario.
    Thanks for sharing your life. It’s really helpful to read what others are going through. Dani

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really enjoyed reading your comments and to hear from a fellow-journaler. I have kept an art one too and found it provided relief emotionally. I am no expert but I don’t like being in situations where I do not know what is going to happen — which happens a lot in life! Sandie

      Like

  2. I am glad it works for you, though I do not understand the “premeditation” part. How can you know what will come each new day? You may miss something unexpectedly wonderful by pre-thinking a scenerio. You need to trust yourself to live the moment fully, not worrying about the “right” response. There is no such thing, as many people do not always see, or even experience, the same thing the exact same way!

    For me, talking to someone works better. I love the bouncing back and forth of ideas, the sharing of laughter and the commiserating of two who have been through it all and trust each other with their inner-most thoughts. To have even one such person in your life, be it a spouse, friend or relative, is a blessing not to be taken lightly.

    xxoo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

