Antoine de Saint-Exupery’s The Little Prince

Standard

This is my favorite quote from one of my favorite books.

“…what is essential is invisible to the eye.”

It is the only quote that I have memorized and I will sprinkle it within a conversation any chance I get. Especially to children as they will be more likely to ask what I mean by the quote. They are intrigued by anything invisible.  But what does essential mean? Then I tell them that what is important is invisible to the eye. Usually this leads to a minute of quiet reflection on their part as they ponder the little prince’s words.

I also quote it to myself when I feel the stirrings of consumerism leaching into my heart.

Do you remember?

We need children to teach us or reteach us important things we have forgotten.

If you have somehow missed reading this wise and wonderful book, do yourself a favor and get yourself a copy today and read it.

5 thoughts on “Antoine de Saint-Exupery’s The Little Prince

Leave a Reply

