Favorite Childhood Books

Standard

One of my favorites was The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe.  This was in the late 60’s before it became so popular or was made into movies.   I remember first finding it in my grade school library.  I would peruse shelves of books, just looking at titles and covers one by one. Suddenly, I stopped.  I saw a picture of a dwarf holding a flask (older copy of book).  Hmmm.. this looks interesting…I felt the hair on the back of my neck stand up as my excitement built.   I took hold of the book feeling it’s promise in my hands.   I think this is the best way to find a book — to feel it calling you.  And to find it on your own — not on a best seller list, or as a present. It seems more personal, as if it is a secret shared between you and the author.

I’d like to hear about other people’s favorite childhood books, so please write in the comment box if you feel like sharing.

17 thoughts on “Favorite Childhood Books

  1. My childhood memories include so many of Enid Blyton’s books – Malory Towers series, St. Claire’s series, The Famous Five series and many more. There were so many others, but one book that I really loved was Daddy Long Legs by Jean Webster. I had stumbled upon it just like you did with The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, and I simply adored it. This was when I was in primary school. Even when I reread it as an adult, I loved the humor and story, and it remains a childhood favorite. As I came to middle school, I progressed to Nancy Drew (I think I might have exhausted all the Nancy Drew books in the world during that time), The Hardy Boys, and then I went through a phase of reading only Meg Cabot books 😀 before opening my arms to all kinds of novels and literature. Oh, and I started reading Harry Potter when I was in 6th grade, and it was a major part of my teen years, as the last book came out just before I graduated high school. And that was an incredible journey as well.

    I come from a family of book nerds (in fact, my parents met and became friends only after my mum couldn’t control herself and snatched a novel from my unsuspecting dad’s hand at their workplace one fine afternoon 32 years ago. Sighs.) and I’m so thankful. Books really are an escape, like someone commented above, and a passage way to amazing places just like Narnia, bursting with extraordinary ideas.

    I loved how you described finding the book and how much more personal it was the way you did. I agree. Great post 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • I am not familiar with Enid Blyton save for one illustrated book that I have in my collection. I’ll have to remedy that when I get back to using a library. I’d also like to read Daddy Long Legs you make it sound so good. I did so enjoy Nancy Drew too. I don’t know Meg Cabot either. Have to remedy this as I like to be in the know about children and young adult books. The Harry Potter series is a great favorite of mine. My son and I read almost the entire series out loud to each other. And although not as good as the books, I loved the movies too .Thanks for sharing!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Meg Cabot books were part of a phase I went through in my early teen years. I’m not sure I’d enjoy them as much now, but they really were fun then. All of Enid Blyton’s books were amazing, as was Daddy-Long-Legs.

        It’s so sweet that you and your son read Harry Potter out to each other. I read out four of the books from the series to my mother as well. She reread them on her own later as well, but it was awesome reading out to her, and she loves the series.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I also read the Cherry Ames books. She became a nurse and all the books were about all the places where she found herself and using her nursing skills. As a very young child, my parents allowed me to travel by trolley (or bus, later) and then by the subway to go to the Brooklyn Public Library at Eastern Parkway. I believe I read every fairy book in the children’s section. I especially liked the ones with different colors in the title (for example: The Red Fairy Book; The Purple Fairy Book, etc.).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. When in fifth grade, I was lucky enough to help out in the school library. It was here I first discovered Science Fiction with a series of books that highlighted the “life” of Sprocket the robot. One chapter in and I was hooked! Mixed in with the Science Fiction were Mythology and Fantasy books. I can still picture the bookshelf that held a group of large books featuring the mythology of any culture with a story to tell. Big, beautiful poster-worthy pictures accompanied pages and pages of folklore. Even better-there were books by the same author/artist combination on Fairies, Giants, Trolls and such. I read them eagerly and when one of the books I wanted were not in the library, would grab it when returned-before it hit the shelf again!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

